Goodbye

goodbye

Man’s feelings are always purest and most glowing in the hour of meeting and of farewell.” Jean Paul Richter

As I watch my kids grow up, I’ve found that I hate to say goodbye to each stage. It really is like they become someone new on a regular basis. I get so excited about the new things they say and do and understand, but with every new thing, it seems I have to give up one of the old ones. As adults we’re ever-changing, too. When a stage is over, we look back, and realize that a new “me” has blossomed. We know that we’re better for it. With every goodbye, comes some knowledge of ourselves and others and how the world works.

I’ve seen how yoga has helped me grow and say goodbye to some old ideas. I definitely don’t miss the old me who criticized my body and didn’t appreciate it for all it could do. Or the one who wished she was more like someone else in the class, because surely all of this wasn’t nearly as painful to them as it was for me. I don’t miss the person who thought that moving on and letting go of someone I love meant that I didn’t love them as much as I thought I did. I’ve learned to appreciate my thoughts, acknowledge them, and then let time change them into something better.

When I lost someone, my dad wrote me a letter. It said that he wished there was something he could tell me that would make me feel better. But after losing so many people himself, he knew that the only thing that could do that was time. And, unfortunately, you have to wait for that. He was right, though. And now I’ve learned to say goodbye and go through the pain, knowing with all certainty that I will feel better…when time is ready.

One thought on “Goodbye

  1. You are definitely off to a good start with your blog posts. This is the kind of stuff people want to read! Keep it up. They are really well written and heart felt. Do it for yourself now, and eventually, you will find yourself blogging for your students and other folks you’ve never even met!

    Namaste!

    Brett

Leave a Reply

