We all shine on

sunset77

Be not afraid of greatness, some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon them.” Shakespeare

“And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.” Nelson Mandela

“This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.” Harry Dixon Loes

“We all shine on, like the moon and the stars and the sun.” John Lennon

I use to think that it was better to keep your greatness to yourself. An old boyfriend told me that I didn’t know how to take a compliment. So I learned to just say “thanks”. But still, I didn’t feel comfortable letting my light shine. Until one of my favorite yoga teachers told me that she use to be afraid to shine, too. I couldn’t believe it because I thought she was amazing — in her practice and in her spirit. She said that she would be in class and her body would be asking her to press up into a handstand from down dog, but she didn’t want the others in the class to think she was showing off. This, I could not imagine. But the more I thought about it, the more I realized that I was doing the same thing. There are always going to be things that we can’t do. So why do we also try to downplay the things that we can?

When I see an inspiring dance performance, it makes me want to dance my butt off. When I read an awesome book, it makes me want to write a masterpiece myself. When I watch the Olympics, I want to get up off the couch and DO SOMETHING! When I meet someone who is full of life and kindness, I, too, want to express and give.

We owe it to each other and to ourselves to be remarkable!

Leave a Reply

