Dancing Queen

moderndanceSince I don’t dance anymore, I have realized what I loved so much about it. When I dance, I am present. I can’t be anything but present when I dance. I must listen to the music, see the space, and perform the movement. There is no time to think about the past or worry about the future. The only thing I can do is feel my body in the moment. I miss that part more than any other.

I use to rehearse a piece over and over. But there was always mindfulness of the moment, even when I was tired and ready to stop. I have to say that there isn’t anything in my life now that compares. The freedom I felt then is definitely missing. I love yoga, but when I hold a yoga posture, there is that time to let the thoughts creep in. It’s great training for the mind and I’m sure I’m a calmer, more patient and thoughtful person now than I was when I danced. But I feel sure that God gave us dance as a little window into infinity. This is what it feels like to be in the now, and that is all we ever have.

Tonight I got my groove on with my son in our living room. He jumped off furniture and rolled on the floor while I got my groove on a little more carefully. But after a few days in a funk, it felt so right to shake my worries away!

“While I dance I cannot judge, I cannot hate, I cannot separate myself from life. I can only be joyful and whole. That is why I dance.” ~ Hans Bos

Leave a Reply

