Tolerate Delay

hourglass_by_inertiakI accept Time absolutely.
It alone is without flaw,
It alone rounds and completes all,
That mystic baffling wonder.
– Walt Whitman (Leaves of Grass)

My new mantra: patience.  I’ve been telling everyone this and they tell me that they have been feeling the same way.  Maybe the stars are aligned for patience lately.  Why have I been in such a hurry to figure out my life?  If I don’t know the answers to my questions, I shouldn’t just make them up…I should wait for them to come to me.

I think I’m in a reverse mid-life crisis.  Instead of feeling like half of my life is over and I need to hurry up and do all the things I want to do, I am thinking that I could still live 40 or 50 more years, so what’s the rush?  This mid-life thing is just a rite of passage anyway.  Puberty for adults.  Why does everyone freak out about it?  Embrace it and be glad that we don’t wait until our 60’s to make sure we’re on the right path for our lives.

Leave a Reply

