Simplicity

simplicity

Simple is one of those words that can be a compliment or an insult. So maybe that’s why I struggle with it.  If  you keep your house or your plans simple, you’re doing a good thing.  If you are predictable or uninteresting, then you’re simple, too.  There’s a magazine dedicated to simple living, and it all sounds good.  But do I really want a simple life?

I do want the simplicity of having less, being more organized and keeping my worries to a minimum.

Ya know that song that goes “be a simple kind of man, be something you love and understand”. I love that song, but something about it bugs me. Should we not strive to be more than just simple? There is so much I don’t understand about myself and I love the process of figuring it out just as much as actually knowing it to be true. I do realize that I can make life harder than it has to be. But when I know that’s what I was doing and decide to stop, I feel really happy about that.

To be honest, I’ve never met a truly simple person.  If you get to the heart of why people do what they do, there’s never a simple story to explain it.  Within the complexities of life, we can find deeper meaning for living.  God created this universe full of twists and turns and things the naked eye cannot understand.  And I believe he made us that way, too.

So I’m scratching “live simply” off my list of to do’s, for now anyway.  I’ll keep trekking along at my complicated, but fascinating pace.

One thought on “Simplicity

  1. Reading your posts makes me think of all our talks and makes me grateful for our friendship…super grateful…getting misty…and smiling and wishing my torso were longer 🙂

Leave a Reply

