Creative Uncertainty

light-bulb-fish-bowl
Photo by Greg Schurman

The moment when you first wake up in the morning is the most wonderful of the twenty-four hours. No matter how weary or dreary you may feel, you possess the certainty that, during the day that lies before you, absolutely anything may happen. And the fact that it practically always doesn’t, matters not a jot. The possibility is always there. -Monica Baldwin

I went hiking with a friend this morning and I was so excited, telling her all the new things I’m thinking of and doing these days.  Pretty simple things, nothing too crazy, but stuff that gets me stoked.  All of a sudden, she said “You’re really tapping into your creativity lately.”  And I realized that I hadn’t even thought about it that way.  But she’s right.  Creativity is what gets me going, and I think I just forgot it.

My favorite classes in college were Improvisation, Creative Movement and Choreography.  My favorite part about teaching dance was either choreographing something myself, or guiding my students in their own creative process.  I love Vinyasa Yoga because there are endless ways to flow from pose to pose.

I guess I got wrapped up in thinking that creativity had to have a final result like my dances did.  Something to look at.   I’ve been thinking that to be creative, I have to have something tangible to show for it.  Like my friend who makes jewelry, yoga bags and anything else under the sun.  Or my friend who is so great at decorating her house and always has something new in the mix.  Or the person who’s so good at gardening and seems to place every plant and flower where God might have placed it Himself.

But I am creative, and I’m starting to realize that there are creative ways to do anything, including going through tough times in your life.  When life takes me up a serious hill, I don’t have to react with gloom and doom.  I can imagine lots of ways to deal with it that are positive and maybe like none I’ve ever seen.  I have a tendency to look to others who have been through something similar to figure out how I should handle things.  But that’s probably not the best idea.  We all have the freedom to live our lives as we wish and just because we may get thrown the same hand as someone else, it doesn’t mean we have to play it their way.

I hope this creative streak sticks…I know for certain that I need it because of all the uncertainties in my life.

Leave a Reply

