Coming Clean

caughtintherain

The man who can keep a secret may be wise, but he is not half as wise as the man with no secrets to keep. – Edgar Watson Howe

I’ve always been a secret-keeper.  I know exactly where this comes from, and, ironically, I’m going to keep that a secret.  There have been so many times in my life that I have kept something about myself from the people in my life.  Not as much something I had done, but things that had been done to me, or were a part of who I was that I thought I should hide.

But here’s what I have discovered everytime I’ve revealed something about myself that I didn’t want anyone to know:

The person I opened up to felt honored that I had shared such a big part of my life with them, they felt closer to me and me to them, and they understood me better.  And Lord knows, I want to be understood!

Lately I have been opening up to my friends about things that I have kept hidden for a very long time.  And everytime I let one of these secrets out, I feel cleansed and powerful.  Like I can finally let go of the worry that this secret has caused me.  I have discovered how supportive my friends are and how good I am at choosing my friends.  I never imagined I would have people in my life who cared about me so much and wanted to be there for me, through thick and thin.  For every hardship I’ve encountered, I’ve been blessed ten-fold.

I’m moving forward in my life with a new openness about who I am, and in turn I’m allowing the people in my life to open up, too.  If we can reveal ourselves, flaws and all, so can others.  A priceless gift…

3 thoughts on “Coming Clean

  1. knew you would have posted to your blog last night so here i am this morning, reading the heart of a girl who I know, understand…and still think is the coolest.

  2. Great post. I’ve always kept secrets, too. Letting those go is really hard for me sometimes, but when I do, I always feel better and refreshed. One guy told me the whole key to a happy life is to tell the truth. I’m finally discovering that, somewhat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

