Take a Hit

face_punchAh, when to the heart of man was it ever less than a treason to go with the drift of things to yield with a grace to reason and bow and accept at the end of a love or a season. – Robert Frost


For after all, the best thing one can do when it’s raining is to let it rain. – Henry Wadworth Longfellow

The main thing I remember from my one session of T’ai Chi classes was that if you are getting ready to be hit, don’t tense up and try to brace yourself, but loosen up and take it while you plan your next move.  Words I can live by!

Things definitely hurt the most when we try, in vain, to prevent them.  There’s a  lot we can control, but, like they say in the 12 steps,  I need to learn to accept the things I can’t.

I spent a lot of years trying to resist things that were inevitable.  I was super tense and uptight about it and thought that if I kept resisting, I could make it all better.  In the meantime, things got worse and now I have about a thousand more things to forgive, understand and work through than I would have if I had just taken the hit and planned my next move.

As I’m getting older, I’m learning not to dread things like I use to.  I usually wish I could live my life in fast forward through the hard times.  But really, each day holds something good for me.  I don’t think I’ve ever had a day that there was not one great moment.  I’ve had days with some pretty crappy moments, but they didn’t last any longer than the good ones.

Yoga has taught me to accept my body with its strengths and limitations.  Now life is trying to teach me that I can’t look back and regret all of my mistakes and misjudgments.  I have to accept what I’ve done and what has happened and love it just the same.

One thought on “Take a Hit

Leave a Reply

