Open Up

OpenSignWhen one door closes, another opens.  But we often look so regretfully upon the closed door that we don’t see the one which has opened for us. – Alexander Graham Bell

Become a possibilitarian.  No matter how dark things seem to be or actually are, raise your sights and see possibilites – always see them, for they are always there. – Norman Vincent Peale

Where there is an open mind, there will always be a frontier. – Charles F. Kettering

My friends who aren’t into yoga yet always think it’s funny when they hear me say something about trying to be more open in my poses.  Traditionally we think of the word “open” as representing a place of nothing…an empty space…a black hole, perhaps.  And I suppose that is what we’re referring to in yoga, too.  You create more open space around you when you become more flexible and create deeper expressions of the postures.

But, to me, yoga is always a metaphor to something about my life.  And being open in poses helps me to be more open in my mind.  Wayne Dyer says that being open to anything is the first secret to success and inner peace.  I started trying to live my life this way a few years ago and it has changed me in so many ways.  I never understood how many unspoken rules I had running around in my head about what was acceptable for my life.  I had so many expectations of myself that it made it difficult to really figure out who was inside of me.  I also had so many expectations of others that it made it difficult to be the best friend and the best citizen of the world that I could be.

Being open has helped me to understand all different kinds of people better, which saves me a lot of energy and thought wondering why people do what they do.  I also think it helps me love deeper because I don’t have a lot expectations of people.  If they disappoint me, I’m open to the fact that maybe they don’t want my love and I can just move on.

There are lots things I never thought I would do that I’ve either now done, or would totally do someday.  This is freedom to me. It’s exciting to  know that life really is out there for me to soak up and experience in any number of ways.  I’m glad my life isn’t predictable and my future isn’t mapped out for me.  I love being open in my body, my mind and my heart.

Leave a Reply

