Scuttlebutt

ScuttlebuttPope

There is so much good in the worst of us, and so much bad in the best of us, that it hardly becomes any of us to talk about the rest of us. – Edward Wallis Hoch

Be not disturbed at being misunderstood;  be disturbed rather at not being understanding. – Chinese Proverb

You don’t have to go looking for love when it’s where you come from. – Werner Erhard


I learned the word scuttlebutt this week.  In case you don’t know, it’s Navy slang for gossip.  My friend that taught me this word says she is not scuttlebutting anymore…and I’m trying to be right in there with her.  But I have to confess that it is pretty hard.  I try not to go around spreading rumors, for sure, but I definitely share the latest news with my very best friends.  But I know I shouldn’t…

I have had many times in my life that I felt I misrepresented myself and it was usually because something behind the scenes was going on.  I think when most people do something gossip-worthy, there is probably something the gossiper doesn’t understand that got them where they got.  It definitely makes people feel better about themselves when they hear of someone doing something they themselves would never do.  But as life goes on, I’m beginning to believe that I should never speak the words “I would never do that!”  Maybe I’m naive, but I don’t believe there are many people who do things to intentionally hurt themselves or anyone else.  I think that most people are searching for something in their own lives and sometimes get so desperate for it that they do things they wouldn’t otherwise do.  The need to be loved is probably the biggest reason we all make our mistakes.

I’ve searched for love behind lots of different doors.  There were some doors that opened to goodness and some that I wish I would’ve slammed shut before the rumors got started.  But lessons were learned, so I just moved on.  I’m definitely still on my search, but I do know that if I can love myself and the creator of this universe the most, I won’t make nearly as many mistakes.  In turn, my tolerance of others and their mishaps or unpopular actions will increase and I might not even feel the need to scuttle my butt over to tell anyone the news.

One thought on “Scuttlebutt

  1. I need to follow suit. Gossip is such an easy way to start conversation. Let’s see, how shall I stoke my ego: I know, I’ll tell him/her about XXXX. Instant confidence builder. 🙂 Hope things are going well! I just heard via Facebook that your Dogs beat the crap of my Comets. 😦

    BC

Leave a Reply

