Empty Spaces

Let me be empty and weightless and maybe I’ll find some peace tonight. – Sarah McLachlan

I asked a friend what his wildest dreams were.  He took some time to think it over, but he still couldn’t come up with an answer.  Which got me thinking about how easy it was to have wild and crazy dreams when I was young and it felt like anything was possible and how much harder it is now that reality has started setting in.  I still have dreams, but they only seem to be ones that I know can never come true.  I imagine that when I’m a very old lady I will probably not have any dreams left at all except for a heavenly place awaiting me.  But I’m thinking that’s how it should be.  I have probably had too many dreams in my life that could never come true and it just might have stolen some time and joy from me.

I’m trying to discover what I can replace those spaces in my mind with.  I suppose dreams for my kids would be good, but I really want them to create their own dreams for their lives without trying to please me.  Or maybe dreams for a better world, but I try so hard to accept the world and find it’s perfection just the way it is.

What I should probably do is dream of blank canvases and empty spaces for love and life to fill up.

Leave a Reply

