Making Plans

Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans. – John Lennon

Make plans and God laughs. – Hebrew Proverb

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declared the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

Sometimes I live in a land of planning in my head and sometimes I live in a world of day by day.  I’ve always loved having something to strive for.  Something I’m in control of.  I love it when an idea pops in my head and I begin to slowly take steps until I’ve made it happen.  I enjoy looking back over my life at the things I’ve done and remember how I felt when it was just an idea floating around or a project I was telling a friend about.  Even if my design didn’t end up giving me the outcome I was hoping for, I never regret the journey.

It’s the things in life that you can’t really plan that throw me.  The things that God is in control of, and not me.  I suppose this is everyone’s plight in some way.

I’m in a place in life where I’ve finally regained some control of my circumstance and there’s no one to blame but me when things don’t go my way.  But I still have thoughts and dreams about a different kind of life sometimes.  Which is totally frustrating because I have exactly what I wanted and now I’m left wanting more.  I’m beginning to think that this is human nature, this always wanting more business.  I have these fleeting moments when I look around and see everything I could ever want right in front of me and some little voice inside my head says “Now wouldn’t it be great if you just had this, too?”

Some of my best yoga classes have been ones that I didn’t plan at all.   I walked in the door, took a look around and just let the words fall from my mouth.  The longer I teach, the less I plan.  Maybe life is this way.  The longer we live, the less we’ll need to make plans, especially ones that we can only dream about.

This is just another test of faith, letting God take over as our Event Planner while we just enjoy the party.

Leave a Reply

