Coping Skills

I asked for strength and God gave me Challenges to make me strong.

I asked for Wisdom and God gave me Problems to solve.

I asked for Prosperity and God gave me Brain and Brawn to work.

I asked for Courage and God gave me Danger to overcome.

I asked for Love and God gave me Troubled people to help.

I asked for Favors and God gave me Opportunities.

I received nothing I wanted. I received everything I needed.

Lately I am thankful for all the things I thought of as suckish that have happened to me.  Like almost drowning in the public pool in front of my first love the day after he dumped me.  (Humiliating)  Like sitting at the end of long table full of dance teachers who told me to lose weight.  (Devastating)  Like the fact that my hands are so dang small and guitar chords are so hard for me.  (Frustrating)  Like opening myself up to someone over and over and getting mistreated or taken for granted. (Heart-breaking)  Like not getting what I wanted all the time and wanting things that didn’t come easy for me.

I’m thankful because when those things happened to me, they seemed terrible and embarrassing and unfair and now they’re funny stories that don’t bother me at all.  I’m thankful that they taught me coping skills.  I’m thankful that throughout my life I’ve had to learn the hard way how to move on and still have a happy life despite my circumstances.

I know someone who married her high school sweetheart, had two beautiful kids, a great job and a beautiful home.  Then one day her husband decided he didn’t want to be married to her anymore and she has completely fallen apart.  I’m talking to a point that she can’t even function or behave with dignity.  I feel really badly for her and I sympathize, but I most definitely do not understand where she is coming from.  Life has taught me to pick up the pieces, no matter how many or how small, and just keep going.  And thank goodness for that.

We are meant to enjoy our time here on Earth.  We are meant to have joy and happiness and love.  But I don’t think we’re meant to have it all the time.  We must find our way out of darkness to see the most beautiful of lights.  Rainbows after the rain are so much more inspiring and satisfying than a lifetime of sunny skies.

It’s hard to watch my boys go through difficult times in their lives, especially when I know I have a hand in it with the divorce we’re going through.  But as I’m watching them learn to cope with it, I feel very happy for them because I know they will take these skills and lessons with them their entire lives.  From hardship comes wisdom and confidence that you can survive whatever life throws at you.  My children will grow to be compassionate, strong people who won’t feel entitled, but blessed.

Leave a Reply

