Guitars and Modifications

When you come to a roadblock, take a detour. – Mary Kay Ash

Be not afraid of learning slowly, be afraid of standing still. – Unknown

Don’t let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do. – Unknown

I finally started guitar lessons last spring.  I’ve always wanted to learn to play and I really enjoy my lessons and practicing.  But chords are HARD and my hands are small and I’ve been having a hard time.  So I asked my teacher if I can modify chords and he has taught me a few ways that are working great. I am as happy as a clam doing my modified chords, but he keeps trying to get me to do them the true way.  I get his point.  I think it’s all the yoga I practice and teach.  I love that I can always use a prop or a wall to help me get into a pose that I would otherwise not be able to get into.  That approach has seeped into my way of thinking about everything, I guess.  I just believe there’s a way to do anything you want to do, even if you have to do it a different way.

I do hope that someday I’ll be able to play all the chords in their complete forms and practice some hardcore yoga poses that I haven’t been able to do so far.  But without modifications, I know neither would ever happen.

When a student asks me if I think they will ever be able to get a certain asana or become more open in a certain area, I always answer with a yes.  If they are willing to put the time in and practice regularly, I have absolutely no doubt that their body will change.  Nothing stays the same.  I can’t tell them how long it will take or exactly how it will happen, though.  Their journey is precisely their own.

Life isn’t laid out for us to get what we want when we want it.  Opportunities present themselves, but there is always major work to be done.    Patience and creativity have become my keys to finding happiness exactly where I am.  I know I use to look for templates on how to live my life and I could never quite fit myself into them.  Now I can accept that I may have to do things a little less conventionally and not everyone will understand me and that is totally okay.  We all have to walk down our own path and if it takes us around our elbows to get to our thumbs, then we should just enjoy the scenery.

Leave a Reply

