I’m Just Not Business

A business that makes nothing but money is a poor kind of business. – Henry Ford

I spend my days teaching Yoga and Pilates.  There is nothing else I would rather be doing and I am sincerely passionate about it.  They have both changed my life and I want to be a part of changing someone else’s, one class at a time.

I am the luckiest person in the world because I do what I love, what I believe in and I know I’m good at it.

I had this epiphany one day in a Yoga class that I should bring this studio to my small, hometown because I was afraid there were people there who needed it and might not get it if I didn’t come.  No one was more amazed than me that I actually made that happen.

So here I sit owning a studio in my hometown: a dream come true.

But for a while I got lost in all the “business” stuff.  People kept telling me it’s a business and I have to make all these decisions based on numbers and marketing.  I became so worried that I was missing opportunities for exposure and accolades in the name of the business that I forgot why I even wanted to create this space in the first place.

If I had raised money for a cause through the studio, I needed to call the newspaper and see if they would write an article about it.  I wanted to share stories of things about me in sutras that I thought might help others, but I became too afraid of making myself look bad.  I was losing all the things that I had gained and learned from my Yoga practice.  Business isn’t humble or Yogic, but I would like to be.

Today I became free again and it’s such a relief.  I became free because I’m no longer feeling like a business and I’m back to feeling like a person and a teacher.  I have let people down and opened myself up to criticism, and now that it feels like expectations are low, I can finally be myself again.

I’m going to send donations with no hoopla whatsoever.  I’m going to share whatever I want to in classes in the hopes that my existence can make someone’s better. I’m going to do what I’m good at and not apologize for what I’m not good at. I’ve never wanted to be successful, I’ve only wanted to be helpful.  My intentions are pure and good and this business of business is not.

3 thoughts on “I’m Just Not Business

  1. Good for you! I know how you feel…the balance between the business and the yoga is hard to find. It is just like the rest of the practice…a constant work in progress. Congrats on all you have done for yoga in your community and what you continue to provide. I enjoy reading your posts!

Leave a Reply

