Love a Little

“If we listened to our intellect, we’d never have a love affair.  We’d never have a friendship.  We’d never go into business, because we’d be cynical.  Well, that ‘s nonsense.  You’ve got to jump off cliffs all the time and build your wings on the way down.” – Ray Bradbury

A friend texted me this quote after Ray Bradbury’s passing this week.  No explanation attached.  I didn’t need one.  I knew what she was trying to tell me.  Life and all the experiences it has offered me have made me feel smarter and wiser, but all this new wisdom is also making me so careful that I am not loving with the freedom that I use to.

This quote reminded me of the cheesy, but awesome song from the saddest movie ever, Beaches.  Bette Midler reminds me that I need to give a little, take a little, laugh a little, cry a little, and let my poor heart break a little.  Love wouldn’t mean a thing if it wasn’t a risk.  The most thrilling things in life are the things that frighten us, but we do them anyway.

I was talking to a friend the other day who told me that he had never been in love before.  I don’t think he’s 100% sure of why, but it doesn’t seem to bother him.  But I think if he did give it a try, even just once, he would see this new opportunity for living unfold.

I thought back about the times I have fallen in love in my life.  I may be afraid of a lot of things (deep water, big dogs, headstands on my forearms), but, until recently, I have not been afraid of being in love.  I thought about my little list of loves and tried using my hindsight to analyze whether I really was in love, or if I was just caught up in a moment.  Then the coolest thing occurred to me: being in love absolutely IS being caught up in a moment! I am a yogi and living in the moment is what we are all about.

Looking back at failed relationships can make me wish I had been smarter, gone slower, shared less. I have thrown myself into love with lofty abandon and I have dipped my toes into love with bashful restraint.  I can say with all honesty, that all the ways I have loved and lost have hurt.

As author Paulo Coelho says, “Out of a fear of weeping later, we fail to accept the joy that is knocking our door”.  There is an innocence that I hope to never lose in falling hopelessly in love.  And whether with many or just one more, I hope to fall again and again.

4 thoughts on “Love a Little

  1. Wow! This blog hit home in so m,y ways. ‘All the ways I have loved and lost have hurt’ the reason we are scared to love is because of hurt, but its the only thing that helps us grow into the next rerlationship. Very well written.

  2. It is a practice, I think, to allow yourself to be wooed by each moment, one after the next. To meet the moment with such openness and expectation of grace, the way you do when it is your new love walking through the door, to look up and be glad.

    Thank you, Cindy.

Leave a Reply

