Many Paths to Yoga

Here’s my latest article for the Stanly News and Press:

“There are many paths to the top of the mountain, but the view is always the same.” – Chinese Proverb

I teach many types of people who come to Yoga and Pilates for many different reasons.  Some tell me they are there to become more flexible, some want more strength.  Some are recovering from something and some have just been pretty sedentary.  Some need some stress relief and some have been told by their doctor that they need to be there.   Some want a kick-butt workout and some want gentle stretching.  And some just want a body like Jennifer Aniston.

Cindy window lightI’m just glad they got there.

I came to yoga because I was trying to be nice to my body for a change.  For most of my life, I was not concerned with whether or not something was good for me.  If it gave me the outcome I was looking for, it did not matter.  Then one day I started to feel pretty badly, in my body and in my soul.  I started getting sick and hurt every time I turned around.  It took some time, but I came to realize that there was a good chance I was making myself sick and hurt.

So yoga became my magic pill, for a time.  Then life caught up with me and I had to take responsibility for myself.  That is when yoga and meditation became my toolbox instead of my meds.

I’m just glad I got here.

Yoga has become the place where I see a common thread between me and every other person I meet.  It has helped me see that we all feel the same things and we all put up the same defenses.  We all love the same way and our hearts all break the same way.  We are all right sometimes and we are all wrong sometimes.  We all say and do things that hurt others and we all get hurt.  We are all looking for the same things down many different paths.

Most of us take a look around and wonder how we ended up on the path we are on.  I know I do.  But I wouldn’t want to hike up any other trail.  Through Yoga and Pilates, I am finding more peace and contentment on my path with every step and every day spent on my mat.

Leave a Reply

